GoFreeAlts

Free Claude Code Alternatives

Last checked: . Prices and limits change often, so each listing links to the page we checked.

How we pick: free plan or license checked on the vendor's own page. Paid placement can't change the order. How we check

Quick comparison

AlternativeFree tierBest forPlatforms
OpenCodeFree and open-source terminal agentsNo account, free models built inTerminal, desktop app, IDE extension
gooseFree and open-source terminal agentsDesktop app on Mac, Windows and LinuxDesktop app and CLI for macOS, Linux and Windows
AiderFree and open-source terminal agentsNot listedTerminal
Qwen CodeFree and open-source terminal agentsNot listedTerminal, IDE plugins, desktop app, web UI
ClineIn VS CodeStay in VS CodeVS Code extension, CLI, desktop app
OpenAI Codex CLIOpen source, but tied to an account or a local modelNot listedTerminal on macOS, Linux and Windows
Antigravity CLIFree hosted plan (not open source)Not listedmacOS, Windows, Linux

Short answer

Claude Code isn't on Claude's Free plan. It comes with the paid Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans, or you can pay for API usage through a Claude Console account. If you want a coding agent that reads your repo, edits files and runs commands for $0:

  • Open source, free to install: OpenCode, Cline, goose, Aider, Qwen Code and OpenAI's Codex CLI.
  • Free models with no account: OpenCode ships a set of free models (free for a limited time, per OpenCode).
  • Free hosted plan, not open source: Google's Antigravity CLI, through Antigravity's $0 Individual plan.

The software is free. You either run a local model (for example with Ollama), use a free model or plan, or pay an AI provider for your own API key.

Free swaps for Claude Code

7 options. Every card shows the same facts in the same order; "Not stated" means the vendor's page doesn't say.

  • OpenCode

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (MIT)
    Runs on
    Terminal, desktop app, IDE extension
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Built-in free models, no account needed (free for a limited time); or local models
    Last release
    v1.19.5 · 2026-10-28 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you need free models you can count on; OpenCode says they're free for a limited time.

    DetailsOpen opencode.ai

  • Cline

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    VS Code extension, CLI, desktop app
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Local Ollama or LM Studio; or your own API key
    Last release
    v4.1.26 · 2026-10-26 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you need the JetBrains extension; the pricing page lists it under Enterprise.

    DetailsOpen Cline pricing

  • goose

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    Desktop app and CLI for macOS, Linux and Windows
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Ollama (local); or your own API key
    Last release
    v1.56.0 · 2026-10-23 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you want a coding-only tool; goose is a general-purpose agent.

    DetailsOpen goose-docs.ai

  • Aider

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    Terminal
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Local Ollama models; or your own API key
    Last release
    v0.86.0 · 2025-08-09 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you want frequent updates; its last GitHub release was 2025-08-09.

    DetailsOpen aider.chat

  • Qwen Code

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    Terminal, IDE plugins, desktop app, web UI
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Local models (Ollama / vLLM); its free Qwen OAuth tier ended on 2026-04-15
    Last release
    v0.26.2 · 2026-10-27 (GitHub, CLI)

    Skip it if: you wanted the free Qwen OAuth tier; it ended on 2026-04-15.

    DetailsOpen Qwen Code on GitHub

  • OpenAI Codex CLI

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    Terminal on macOS, Linux and Windows
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Local models with --oss (Ollama or LM Studio)
    Last release
    rust-v0.165.0 · 2026-10-27 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you don't want a ChatGPT account, an API key or a local model; it needs one.

    DetailsOpen Codex on GitHub

  • Antigravity CLI

    Cost/license
    $0 Individual plan; license not stated
    Runs on
    macOS, Windows, Linux
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Free plan with "Basic weekly rate limits"
    Last release
    Not stated

    Skip it if: you need open source; Google doesn't state a license for it.

    DetailsOpen Antigravity pricing

Is Claude Code free?

No. Per the Claude pricing page (checked 2026-10-28), the Free plan ($0) feature table lists "Claude Code: No". Claude Code is included in:

Claude Code's quickstart says you need "A Claude subscription (Pro, Max, Team, or Enterprise), Claude Console account, or access through a supported cloud provider." Claude Code runs on macOS, Linux and Windows.

Comparison table

ToolOpen source? (license)Cost of the softwareFree way to run a modelWhere it runsSource (checked 2026-10-28)
OpenCodeYes (MIT)$0 ("100% free to use")Built-in free models, no account needed (free for a limited time); or local modelsTerminal, desktop app, IDE extensionopencode.ai
ClineYes (Apache-2.0)$0 for individual developersLocal Ollama or LM Studio; or your own API keyVS Code extension, CLI, desktop appCline pricing
gooseYes (Apache-2.0)$0Ollama (local); or your own API keyDesktop app and CLI for macOS, Linux and Windowsgoose-docs.ai
AiderYes (Apache-2.0)$0Local Ollama models; or your own API keyTerminalaider.chat
Qwen CodeYes (Apache-2.0)$0Local models (Ollama / vLLM); its free Qwen OAuth tier ended on 2026-04-15Terminal, IDE plugins, desktop app, web UIQwen Code on GitHub
OpenAI Codex CLIYes (Apache-2.0)$0 for the software; sign in with ChatGPT or use an API keyLocal models with --oss (Ollama or LM Studio)Terminal on macOS, Linux and WindowsCodex on GitHub
Antigravity CLINot stated$0 Individual planFree plan with "Basic weekly rate limits"macOS, Windows, LinuxAntigravity pricing

Free and open-source terminal agents

These run in your terminal, read your project, edit files and run commands. You pick the model.

OpenCode

OpenCode calls itself "The open source AI coding agent." Its FAQ says "OpenCode is 100% free to use. It also comes with a set of free models. There might be additional costs if you connect any other provider."

More details
  • License: MIT, per its GitHub repository (now at anomalyco/opencode).
  • Free models: the FAQ says you can use them "without creating an account." OpenCode's Zen docs list them (for example GLM-5.3-Flash Free and DeepSeek V4.1 Flash Free) and say each is free "for a limited time."
  • Privacy on free models: the FAQ says "Your data and information is only stored when you use our free models." Per the Zen docs, some free models' providers use a zero-retention policy, while for others (such as Big Pickle and Flint 40B Free) "collected data may be used to improve the model." Check the list before you send private code.
  • Other models: "75+ LLM providers through Models.dev, including local models." You can also log in with a GitHub Copilot or ChatGPT Plus/Pro account.

Source: opencode.ai, OpenCode Zen docs and OpenCode on GitHub (license: MIT per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

goose

goose is "Your native open source AI agent," with a desktop app, CLI and API. Its site says it's "a general-purpose AI agent that runs on your machine. Not just for code."

More details
  • Models: "Works with 15+ providers — Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, Ollama, OpenRouter, Azure, Bedrock, and more." It can also use your existing Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini subscriptions through ACP.
  • Platforms: macOS, Linux and Windows.
  • Project: part of the Agentic AI Foundation at the Linux Foundation. The repository moved to aaif-goose/goose.

Source: goose-docs.ai and goose on GitHub (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Aider

Aider is "AI pair programming in your terminal." Its site says it "can connect to almost any LLM, including local models," and it "automatically commits changes with sensible commit messages."

More details
  • Local models: Aider's docs show how to connect it to local Ollama models.
  • Updates: its last GitHub release is v0.86.0 from 2025-08-09, and the repository was last updated in May 2026.

Source: aider.chat, Aider Ollama docs and Aider on GitHub (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Qwen Code

Qwen Code is "An open-source AI coding agent that lives in your terminal," with IDE plugins, a desktop app and a web UI too. Its README says it works with "Any third-party provider or local model (Ollama / vLLM)."

More details
  • Free tier ended: Qwen Code's docs say "Qwen OAuth is no longer a selectable dialog entry — its free tier was discontinued on 2026-04-15."
  • Today: its /auth menu offers QwenCloud or Alibaba ModelStudio keys and plans, third-party providers, or a custom provider such as a local server.

Source: Qwen Code on GitHub and Qwen Code authentication docs (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

In VS Code

Cline

Cline is "The open agent," with a VS Code extension, a CLI (installed with npm i -g cline) and a desktop app. Its pricing page says "Cline is free for individual developers. Pay only for AI inference on a usage basis - no subscriptions."

More details
  • Models: "Claude, GPT, Gemini, local Ollama / LM Studio, or any OpenAI-compatible endpoint. Bring your own key or your own weights."
  • JetBrains: Cline's homepage links a JetBrains install, but its pricing page lists the JetBrains extension under Enterprise.

Source: cline.bot, Cline pricing and Cline on GitHub (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Open source, but tied to an account or a local model

OpenAI Codex CLI

Codex CLI is "a coding agent from OpenAI that runs locally on your computer." The code is open source (Apache-2.0), but you need a model:

More details
  • ChatGPT sign-in: OpenAI's help center says "Codex is included across ChatGPT plans, including Free and Go. Usage limits vary by plan." The Codex pricing page lists Free ($0) with "GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout," and lists "Codex on the web, in the CLI, in the IDE extension" under Plus ($20 a month). The Codex README names Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise.
  • API key: works too, billed at API prices.
  • Local models: Codex's docs say it "can run against a local 'open source' provider such as Ollama or LM Studio when you pass --oss."

Source: Codex on GitHub, Codex pricing, OpenAI help center and Codex advanced config (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Free hosted plan (not open source)

Antigravity CLI

Antigravity CLI is Google's "terminal-first surface to work with Antigravity agents." Google's pricing page lists an Individual plan at $0 a month, "without a subscription plan," with "Access to a variety of agent models" and "Basic weekly rate limits." Antigravity is available on macOS, Windows and Linux. The Google pages we checked don't state a license for it.

More details

Source: Antigravity pricing and antigravity.google · checked 2026-10-28

What changed

Run it fully local

To pay nothing for the model, run one on your own computer. Ollama is a common way to do that.

Local models need a capable computer. We don't list hardware needs because most of these tools don't publish them.

FAQs

Is Claude Code free?

No. Claude's pricing page lists "Claude Code: No" for the Free plan. It's included in Pro ($17 a month billed annually, or $20 monthly), Max (from $100 a month), Team and Enterprise. You can also pay for API usage through a Claude Console account (checked 2026-10-28).

Is Claude Code included in Claude Pro?

Yes. Claude's pricing page lists Claude Code in Pro, which costs $17 a month with the annual discount ($200 billed up front) or $20 billed monthly. Max, from $100 a month, gives 5x or 20x more usage than Pro (checked 2026-10-28).

Is there a completely free alternative to Claude Code?

Yes, if you run a local model. OpenCode, Cline, goose, Aider, Qwen Code and Codex CLI are open source, and each can use local models. OpenCode also ships free models you can use without an account, though it says they're free for a limited time.

Is there an open-source alternative to Claude Code?

Yes. OpenCode (MIT), Cline (Apache-2.0), goose (Apache-2.0), Aider (Apache-2.0), Qwen Code (Apache-2.0) and OpenAI Codex CLI (Apache-2.0) are open source, per their GitHub repositories. Crush is source-available under the Functional Source License, not open source.

Can I use Claude Code for free with Ollama?

Ollama's docs show Claude Code connecting to local and cloud models through Ollama's Anthropic-compatible API (the ollama launch claude command). Anthropic's quickstart only lists a Claude subscription, a Console account or a cloud provider. We haven't checked whether this setup needs a Claude account.

Is there a free Claude Code alternative for VS Code?

Cline. It's an open-source (Apache-2.0) VS Code extension, and its pricing page says it's free for individual developers. You pay only for AI inference, or connect local Ollama or LM Studio models. OpenCode and Qwen Code also list IDE extensions.

Is Claude Code free for students?

We didn't find a free student offer for individuals. Claude's pricing page lists an Education plan that universities buy for their students, faculty and staff, at "discounted rates" (checked 2026-10-28).

Is Gemini CLI still free?

Not for unpaid users. Gemini CLI's site says "Unpaid tier and Google One users: Gemini CLI was replaced by Antigravity CLI on June 18th, 2026." Antigravity's pricing page lists a $0 Individual plan with basic weekly rate limits.

How we picked and checked

Sources

All checked 2026-10-28.