GoFreeAlts

Free GitHub Copilot Alternatives for Code Completion

Last checked: . Prices and limits change often, so each listing links to the page we checked.

How we pick: free plan or license checked on the vendor's own page. Paid placement can't change the order. How we check

Quick comparison

AlternativeFree tierBest for
TabbyOpen-source assistants you controlSelf-hosted on your own server
twinnyOpen-source assistants you controlLocal-model autocomplete in VS Code, no sign-in
Kilo CodeOpen-source assistants you controlNot listed
ClineOpen-source assistants you controlNot listed
ZedOpen-source assistants you controlNot listed
Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Free plans from hosted assistantsUnlimited free Tab completions in a hosted editor
Google AntigravityFree plans from hosted assistantsNot listed
JetBrains AI FreeFree plans from hosted assistantsNot listed

Short answer

GitHub Copilot has a $0 plan, Copilot Free, but it stops at 2,000 code completions a month and gives only limited chat and agent use. If you want autocomplete and chat in your editor without that cap:

  • Open source, you pick the model: Tabby (self-hosted server), twinny (VS Code with a local model), Kilo Code, Cline and the Zed editor.
  • Hosted, with a real $0 plan: Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) and Google Antigravity both list unlimited Tab completions on their free plans. JetBrains AI Free lists unlimited completion inside JetBrains IDEs.

The open-source tools cost nothing. The AI itself is free only when you run a model on your own machine or pick a free model. With a paid API key, you pay that provider.

Free swaps for GitHub Copilot

8 options. Every card shows the same facts in the same order; "Not stated" means the vendor's page doesn't say.

  • Tabby

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0; ee/ folder has its own license)
    Runs on
    Server builds for macOS (Apple Silicon), Linux and Windows; VS Code extension
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Community: free, up to 5 users, runs on your server
    Last release
    v0.32.0 · 2026-01-25 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you don't want to run a server yourself, or you need it for more than 5 users on Community.

    DetailsOpen Tabby pricing

  • twinny

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (MIT)
    Runs on
    VS Code 1.93 or newer, with Ollama, LM Studio or llama.cpp
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Free, no sign-in; team gateway free for 5 developers
    Last release
    v4.0.20 · 2026-09-22 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you don't use VS Code; it's a VS Code extension only.

    DetailsOpen twinny on GitHub

  • Kilo Code

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (MIT)
    Runs on
    VS Code, JetBrains, CLI
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Free for individuals; AI billed separately, or use Auto Free, your own key or a local model
    Last release
    v7.8.18 · 2026-10-26 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you need the same free hosted model to stay available; some of Kilo's free models are limited-time offers.

    DetailsOpen Kilo pricing

  • Cline

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    VS Code and VS Code-based editors, CLI; JetBrains (see below)
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Free for individual developers; you pay for AI use or bring your own key
    Last release
    v4.1.26 · 2026-10-26 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you mainly want tab autocomplete; Cline is a chat agent, and AI use is paid unless you bring your own setup.

    DetailsOpen Cline pricing

  • Zed

    Cost/license
    Free, open source (GPL-3.0-or-later, some parts Apache-2.0)
    Runs on
    macOS, Windows, Linux
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Personal: $0 forever with your own keys or agents; Zed's own predictions need Pro
    Last release
    v1.25.3 · 2026-10-23 (GitHub)

    Skip it if: you want Zed's own Zeta predictions for free; they need Pro, the Pro trial, Student or Business.

    DetailsOpen Zed pricing

  • Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)

    Cost/license
    Free plan; not open source
    Runs on
    macOS, Windows 10 (64-bit), Linux; JetBrains plugin
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Free: unlimited Tab completions and inline edits, a "light quota" for agents
    Last release
    Not stated

    Skip it if: you lean on agents a lot; Free has only a "light quota" and limited models.

    DetailsOpen Devin pricing

  • Google Antigravity

    Cost/license
    Free plan ($0 Individual); license not stated
    Runs on
    macOS 12 or later, Windows, Linux; VS Code and JetBrains extensions
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Individual: $0, unlimited Tab completions, "Basic weekly rate limits" on agents
    Last release
    Not stated

    Skip it if: you need predictable agent use; the free plan has "Basic weekly rate limits".

    DetailsOpen Antigravity pricing

  • JetBrains AI Free

    Cost/license
    Free plan; not open source
    Runs on
    JetBrains IDEs
    Commercial use
    Not stated
    Free limit
    Unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs, 3 AI credits a month
    Last release
    Not stated

    Skip it if: you don't code in a JetBrains IDE; the free completion works only there.

    DetailsOpen JetBrains AI pricing

Is GitHub Copilot free?

Yes, there is a free plan. Per GitHub's Copilot plans page (checked 2026-10-28), Copilot Free costs $0 and includes:

Not on Free: pull request code review, the cloud agent that opens pull requests, and buying extra AI credits. GitHub's docs say Free is "intended for personal use only", not for users managed by an organization or enterprise.

Pro is $10 a month with unlimited completions, Pro+ is $39 and Max is $100. Verified students get Copilot Student for free, with unlimited completions. GitHub's docs also say Pro is free for verified teachers and maintainers of popular open-source projects.

Comparison table

ToolOpen source? (license)Free plan limitInline autocomplete? (per vendor)Works in (per vendor)Source (checked 2026-10-28)
TabbyYes (Apache-2.0; ee/ folder has its own license)Community: free, up to 5 users, runs on your serverYesServer builds for macOS (Apple Silicon), Linux and Windows; VS Code extensionTabby pricing
twinnyYes (MIT)Free, no sign-in; team gateway free for 5 developersYesVS Code 1.93 or newer, with Ollama, LM Studio or llama.cpptwinny on GitHub
Kilo CodeYes (MIT)Free for individuals; AI billed separately, or use Auto Free, your own key or a local modelYes ("Code completion & generation")VS Code, JetBrains, CLIKilo pricing
ClineYes (Apache-2.0)Free for individual developers; you pay for AI use or bring your own keyNot stated (agent and chat)VS Code and VS Code-based editors, CLI; JetBrains (see below)Cline pricing
ZedYes (GPL-3.0-or-later, some parts Apache-2.0)Personal: $0 forever with your own keys or agents; Zed's own predictions need ProYes, with GitHub Copilot or a local model on the free planmacOS, Windows, LinuxZed pricing
Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)NoFree: unlimited Tab completions and inline edits, a "light quota" for agentsYesmacOS, Windows 10 (64-bit), Linux; JetBrains pluginDevin pricing
Google AntigravityNot statedIndividual: $0, unlimited Tab completions, "Basic weekly rate limits" on agentsYesmacOS 12 or later, Windows, Linux; VS Code and JetBrains extensionsAntigravity pricing
JetBrains AI FreeNoUnlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs, 3 AI credits a monthYesJetBrains IDEsJetBrains AI pricing

Open-source assistants you control

You choose where the model runs: on your laptop, on your own server, or through an API you already pay for.

Tabby

Tabby's README calls it "a self-hosted AI coding assistant, offering an open-source and on-premises alternative to GitHub Copilot." It needs no database or cloud service and supports consumer-grade GPUs.

More details
  • Free plan: Community is free and open source, for up to 5 users, with local deployment. It includes code completion, an answer engine, inline chat and context providers. Team is $19 a seat a month.
  • On a Mac: Tabby's docs install it with Homebrew and run a small completion model on Apple Silicon (Metal). The docs say an M1/M2 Mac is "likely to be sufficient only for individual usage."
  • License: Apache-2.0, except the `ee/` folder, which has its own license.

Source: Tabby pricing, Tabby on GitHub and Tabby Homebrew guide · checked 2026-10-28

twinny

twinny is a VS Code extension for code completion, inline edits, chat and code review. Its README says it is "Free, open source, MIT licensed, no telemetry, no sign-in."

More details
  • Local models: it finds Ollama, LM Studio and llama.cpp on their usual ports. The README says completion is "tuned to work well with a 7B model."
  • Teams: an optional shared gateway is free for five developers, then $15 a seat a month.
  • Editor: VS Code 1.93 or newer only.

Source: twinny on GitHub (license: MIT per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Kilo Code

Kilo Code is an open-source (MIT) coding agent for VS Code, JetBrains and the terminal. Its pricing page lists "Code completion & generation" on the free plan.

More details
  • Free AI: "Auto Free" sends work to free models through Kilo Gateway "where available". You can also bring your own provider keys, or run local models with Ollama or LM Studio.
  • Paid parts: the platform is free for individuals; Kilo's hosted inference and cloud compute are billed separately. Teams is $15 a user a month.
  • Our test: we installed the Kilo CLI on a Mac with npm and got an answer from the free `kilo-auto/free` model without signing in. The default model asked us to sign in.

Source: Kilo pricing and Kilo Code on GitHub (license: MIT per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Cline

Cline's pricing page says: "Cline is free for individual developers. Pay only for AI inference on a usage basis." It's an agent you chat with, not a tab-completion tool.

More details
  • Models: your own keys from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google and others, or the Cline provider. The pricing FAQ says you can "Switch providers or self-host anytime."
  • Where it runs: a VS Code extension (also Cursor, Windsurf, VSCodium and Antigravity, per its docs) and a CLI. Cline's install docs list JetBrains, but its pricing page puts the JetBrains extension under Enterprise.

Source: Cline pricing and Cline install docs (license: Apache-2.0 per GitHub) · checked 2026-10-28

Zed

Zed is an open-source code editor. Its Personal plan is "$0 forever" with "Unlimited use with your API keys or external agents".

More details
  • Autocomplete: Zed's own prediction model, Zeta, comes with Pro, the Pro trial, Student and Business. Zed's docs say that on the free plan "you can use other providers, like GitHub Copilot or a local model."
  • Paid: Pro is $10 a month with unlimited edit predictions and $5 of tokens.
  • Platforms: macOS, Windows and Linux.

Source: Zed pricing and Zed edit prediction docs (license: GPL-3.0-or-later, with Apache-2.0 parts, per its README) · checked 2026-10-28

Free plans from hosted assistants

Nothing to set up and no model to run, but your code goes to the vendor's servers and the free plans have limits.

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)

Cognition's download page says "Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf." Its pricing FAQ says the Free plan includes "a light quota to code with agents, limited model availability, unlimited inline edits, and unlimited Tab completions."

More details
  • Platforms: macOS, Windows 10 (64-bit) and Linux. The Windsurf plugin for JetBrains IDEs is still available.
  • Paid: Pro is $20 a month.

Source: Devin pricing and Devin Desktop download · checked 2026-10-28

Google Antigravity

Google's Antigravity Individual plan is $0 a month, with "Unlimited Tab completions", "Unlimited Command requests", access to a variety of agent models and "Basic weekly rate limits".

More details
  • Platforms: macOS 12 or later, Windows and Linux. There are also extensions for VS Code (with inline completions) and JetBrains IDEs.
  • Note: Google stopped the free Gemini Code Assist for individuals on June 18, 2026, and points those users to Antigravity.

Source: Antigravity pricing, Antigravity download and Gemini Code Assist consumer notice · checked 2026-10-28

JetBrains AI Free

If you already code in IntelliJ IDEA, PyCharm or another JetBrains IDE, JetBrains AI Free gives "Unlimited AI completion in JetBrains IDEs" and 3 AI credits a month. JetBrains also lets you connect your own AI provider or API key; that use is billed by the provider.

More details

Source: JetBrains AI pricing · checked 2026-10-28

Picks by editor

FAQs

Is GitHub Copilot free?

Yes. Copilot Free costs $0 and includes 2,000 completions a month, limited chat and agent use, and Copilot CLI, with no credit card. Pro, with unlimited completions, is $10 a month. Verified students can get Copilot Student free (checked 2026-10-28).

What are Copilot Free's limits?

2,000 code completions a month, limited chat and agent use with models picked automatically, and no pull request code review or cloud agent. GitHub says Free is for personal use only, not for users managed by an organization or enterprise.

Is there an open-source GitHub Copilot alternative?

Yes. Tabby (Apache-2.0) calls itself "an open-source and on-premises alternative to GitHub Copilot." twinny (MIT) adds completion and chat to VS Code with a local model. Kilo Code (MIT), Cline (Apache-2.0) and the Zed editor are open source too.

Can I get AI autocomplete that runs on my own computer?

Yes. twinny works with Ollama, LM Studio or llama.cpp on your machine. Tabby runs a completion model on your own hardware, including Apple Silicon Macs. Zed can use a local model for edit predictions on its free plan.

What happened to Supermaven, Tabnine, Continue and Gemini Code Assist?

Supermaven announced it was "Sunsetting Supermaven" on November 21, 2025. Continue's site says it was acquired by Cursor; its open-source code is still available. Google stopped the free Gemini Code Assist for individuals on June 18, 2026. Tabnine's pricing page now redirects to a Tricentis sales form, so we couldn't confirm a free plan (checked 2026-10-28).

Is Amazon Q Developer still free?

Its Free tier still lists 50 agentic requests a month. But AWS says it will end support for the Amazon Q Developer IDE plugins on April 30, 2027, and points users to Kiro. Kiro Free gives 50 credits with rate limits (checked 2026-10-28).

Copilot Free vs Devin Desktop Free: which gives more autocomplete?

Copilot Free caps you at 2,000 completions a month. Devin Desktop's Free plan lists unlimited Tab completions and inline edits, with a light quota for agents. Google Antigravity's free plan also lists unlimited Tab completions.

How we picked and checked

Sources

All checked 2026-10-28.