Free Speechify Alternatives
Last checked: . Features and prices change often, so each listing links to the page we checked.
How we pick: free plan or license checked on the vendor's own page. Paid placement can't change the order. How we check
Quick comparison
| Alternative | Free tier | Best for | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Edge Read Aloud | Already on your device | Not listed | Microsoft Edge browser |
| Mac Speak selection | Already on your device | Not listed | macOS (Accessibility, Read & Speak) |
| iPhone Speak Screen | Already on your device | An iPhone | iPhone (Accessibility, Read & Speak) |
| Android Select to Speak | Already on your device | Not listed | Android |
| Windows Narrator | Already on your device | Not listed | Windows 11 and Windows 10 |
| Read Aloud | Free browser extension | A free Chrome extension | Browser extension for Chrome, Firefox and Edge |
| TTSMaker | Free website | Not listed | Web |
| Piper | Open source voices (for tech users) | Running it on your own computer | Your computer: Python, C/ |
| Kokoro-82M | Open source voices (for tech users) | Not listed | Your computer or server (open-weight model) |
Short answer
- Best for a free Chrome extension Read Aloud
- Best for an iPhone iPhone Speak Screen
- Best for running it on your own computer Piper
Your phone or computer can probably already read text aloud for free: Microsoft Edge has Read Aloud, a Mac has Speak selection, an iPhone has Speak Screen and Android has Select to Speak. For a free browser extension, use Read Aloud. These built-in readers are free but basic, so they are not the same as Speechify Premium.
Our picks:
- Already on your device: Edge Read Aloud, Mac Speak selection, iPhone Speak Screen, Android Select to Speak, Windows Narrator
- Free browser extension: Read Aloud (Chrome, Firefox, Edge)
- Free website: TTSMaker
- Open source, for tech users: Piper, Kokoro-82M
Want to make voiceovers or clone a voice rather than listen to text? See our free ElevenLabs alternatives.
Free swaps for Speechify
9 options. Every card shows the same facts in the same order; "Not stated" means the vendor's page doesn't say.
Edge Read Aloud
- Cost/license
- Built into Edge
- Runs on
- Microsoft Edge browser
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you don't use Microsoft Edge.
Read Aloud
- Cost/license
- Free with browser voices; some cloud voices "may require additional in-app purchase"
- Runs on
- Browser extension for Chrome, Firefox and Edge
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you want premium cloud voices free; some may need an in-app purchase.
Mac Speak selection
- Cost/license
- Built into macOS
- Runs on
- macOS (Accessibility, Read & Speak)
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you're not on a Mac.
iPhone Speak Screen
- Cost/license
- Built into iOS
- Runs on
- iPhone (Accessibility, Read & Speak)
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you're on Android; use Select to Speak instead.
Android Select to Speak
- Cost/license
- Built in; if missing, get Android Accessibility Suite on Google Play
- Runs on
- Android
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you're on iPhone; use Speak Screen instead.
Windows Narrator
- Cost/license
- Built in ("nothing you need to download or install")
- Runs on
- Windows 11 and Windows 10
- Commercial use
- Not stated
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you only want a page read aloud; it's a full screen reader.
TTSMaker
- Cost/license
- Free: 20,000 characters a week (some voices unlimited)
- Runs on
- Web
- Commercial use
- Site says yes
- Free limit
- 20,000 characters a week (some voices unlimited)
- Last release
- Not stated
Skip it if: you need more than 20,000 characters a week on voices that have a limit.
Piper
- Cost/license
- Free (GPL-3.0)
- Runs on
- Your computer: Python, C/
C++, command line, web server - Commercial use
- GPL-3.0 terms apply
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- v1.8.0 · 2026-09-04 (GitHub)
Skip it if: you're not comfortable with pip or the command line.
Kokoro-82M
- Cost/license
- Free (Apache-2.0 weights)
- Runs on
- Your computer or server (open-weight model)
- Commercial use
- Yes (Apache-2.0)
- Free limit
- Not stated
- Last release
- v1.0 · 2025-01-27 (model card)
Skip it if: you want an app; it's a model you deploy yourself.
Is Speechify free?
Yes, Speechify has a Free plan. On its Speechify pricing page (checked 2026-10-23), the Free plan lists:
- Listen at speeds up to 1.5x
- Listen anywhere
- 10 "robotic sounding" voices (Speechify's own words)
- Text to speech features only
The paid plan is $29 a month, billed monthly. It adds 1000+ voices, 60+ languages, 5x speeds, Scan & Listen and AI summaries. The page shows a yearly option marked "SAVE 60%", but we didn't record the yearly price, so we don't quote it.
Comparison table
| Tool | Where it runs | Cost | Reads PDFs? (per vendor) | Offline? (per vendor) | Open source? (license) | Source (checked 2026-10-23) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Edge Read Aloud | Microsoft Edge browser | Built into Edge | Not stated on the page we checked | Yes, but "only a few voice options are available while offline" | No | Microsoft Edge |
| Read Aloud | Browser extension for Chrome, Firefox and Edge | Free with browser voices; some cloud voices "may require additional in-app purchase" | Yes (store listings say it supports PDF) | Not stated | Yes (GitHub says MIT; the Firefox listing says GPL-3.0) | readaloud.app |
| Mac Speak selection | macOS (Accessibility, Read & Speak) | Built into macOS | Not stated | Not stated | No | Apple Support |
| iPhone Speak Screen | iPhone (Accessibility, Read & Speak) | Built into iOS | Not stated | Not stated | No | Apple Support |
| Android Select to Speak | Android | Built in; if missing, get Android Accessibility Suite on Google Play | Not stated | Not stated | No | Google Support |
| Windows Narrator | Windows 11 and Windows 10 | Built in ("nothing you need to download or install") | Not stated | Natural voices work without internet once downloaded | No | Microsoft Support |
| TTSMaker | Web | Free: 20,000 characters a week (some voices unlimited) | Not stated | Not stated | No | ttsmaker.com |
| Piper | Your computer: Python, C/C++, command line, web server | Free (GPL-3.0) | Not stated | Runs locally ("fast and local") | Yes (GPL-3.0) | GitHub |
| Kokoro-82M | Your computer or server (open-weight model) | Free (Apache-2.0 weights) | Not stated | Not stated | Yes (Apache-2.0) | Model card |
Already on your device
These cost nothing extra and need no account with a new company. They are basic readers, not a Speechify replacement for every feature.
Microsoft Edge Read Aloud
Edge can read a web page aloud in "a variety of natural-sounding voices and accents". Open it from Settings and more, then More tools, then Read aloud, or select text, right-click and choose Read aloud selection. Microsoft says it works online and offline, "however, only a few voice options are available while offline". Source: Microsoft Edge Read Aloud.
Pros
- Built into Edge, with natural-sounding voices
- Works online and offline
Cons
- Only a few voices work offline
- Only in Microsoft Edge
Mac Speak selection
On a Mac, go to System Settings, Accessibility, Read & Speak, and turn on "Speak selection". Then select text and press Option-Esc (the default shortcut). An optional controller lets you change the speaking rate and skip forward or back. Source: Apple Support (Mac).
Pros
- Built into macOS, with a controller to change the speaking rate
Cons
- Mac only
iPhone Speak Screen
On an iPhone, go to Settings, Accessibility, Read & Speak, and turn on Speak Screen or Speak Selection. Swipe down with two fingers from the top of the screen to hear everything on it, or select text and tap Speak. Source: Apple Support (iPhone).
Pros
- Built into iOS; a two-finger swipe reads the whole screen
Cons
- iPhone only; on Android use Select to Speak
Android Select to Speak
On Android, go to Settings, Accessibility, Select to Speak, and turn on the shortcut. Tap items to hear them, or tap Play to hear everything. Google says that if you don't see Select to Speak, you can download Android Accessibility Suite from Google Play. Source: Google Support.
Pros
- Built into Android, or free with Android Accessibility Suite
Windows Narrator
Narrator is a screen reader built into Windows 11 and Windows 10, so "there's nothing you need to download or install". It is made for navigating the whole computer, so it does more than a "read this page" button and takes more learning. Microsoft says its natural voices, once downloaded, "do not require an internet connection". Source: Microsoft Support.
Pros
- Built into Windows 11 and 10, nothing to install
- Natural voices work without internet once downloaded
Cons
- A full screen reader, so it takes more learning
Free browser extension
Read Aloud
Read Aloud is a browser extension for Chrome, Firefox and Edge that reads the current page "with one click". Its store listings say it can read PDF, Google Docs and more. It can use your browser's own voices, and its Firefox listing says some cloud voices "may require additional in-app purchase". The code is open source: GitHub lists the MIT license, while the Firefox listing says GPL-3.0. Sources: readaloud.app, GitHub.
Pros
- Store listings say it reads PDF and Google Docs
- Works in Chrome, Firefox and Edge
Cons
- Some cloud voices may need an in-app purchase
Free website
TTSMaker
TTSMaker is a free web tool: paste text, pick a voice and play or download the audio. Its site says the free limit is 20,000 characters a week and that "some voices support unlimited free use". It also says you can use the audio commercially at no charge. That is the site's own claim, so read its terms before you rely on it. Source: ttsmaker.com.
Pros
- 20,000 characters a week, and some voices are unlimited
- Paste text and play or download the audio
Cons
- Commercial use is the site's own claim, so read its terms
Open source voices (for tech users)
These need some setup. They are voice engines, not a ready-made reading app.
Piper
Piper is "a fast and local neural text-to-speech engine" (README). It installs with pip and has a command-line tool, a web server and Python and C/C++ APIs. License: GPL-3.0. Source: GitHub.
Pros
- Fast and runs locally
- Command line, web server and Python and C/C++ APIs
Cons
- Needs pip or the command line
Kokoro-82M
Kokoro is an open-weight text-to-speech model with 82 million parameters. Its model card says its Apache-licensed weights can be deployed "anywhere from production environments to personal projects". Source: Model card.
Pros
- Apache-licensed weights you can deploy in production or personal projects
Cons
- A model you deploy yourself, not an app
Which one fits
- On a phone: iPhone Speak Screen or Android Select to Speak.
- For PDFs in the browser: Read Aloud (its listings say it supports PDF).
- In Chrome: Read Aloud.
- Offline: Edge Read Aloud (fewer voices offline), Windows Narrator natural voices once downloaded, or Piper on your own computer.
FAQs
Is Speechify free?
Yes. Speechify's pricing page lists a Free plan with speeds up to 1.5x, 10 voices it calls "robotic sounding" and text to speech features only. The paid plan is $29 a month when billed monthly. If you only need text read aloud, the free readers built into your phone or computer may be enough.
Is Speechify free forever?
The pricing page we checked shows no end date for the Free plan. Its limits are speed (up to 1.5x), voices (10 "robotic sounding" voices) and features (text to speech only). Plans can change, so check the Speechify pricing page before you rely on the Free plan for school or work.
Is Speechify free for students?
The Speechify pricing page we checked does not state a student price or a student plan, so we can't say. Students can still use the Free plan, or the free readers built into their devices: Edge Read Aloud, Mac Speak selection, iPhone Speak Screen or Android Select to Speak.
Is there a free Chrome extension like Speechify?
Yes. Read Aloud is a browser extension for Chrome, Firefox and Edge that reads the current page with one click, and its listings say it supports PDF. It can use your browser's own voices for free; its Firefox listing says some cloud voices may require an in-app purchase.
What is a free Speechify alternative for iPhone or Android?
On iPhone, turn on Speak Screen in Settings, Accessibility, Read & Speak, then swipe down with two fingers to hear the screen. On Android, use Select to Speak in Settings, Accessibility. Google says to get Android Accessibility Suite from Google Play if Select to Speak is missing.
Is there an open-source Speechify alternative?
Yes. Read Aloud is an open-source browser extension. Piper (GPL-3.0) and Kokoro-82M (Apache-2.0) are open-source voice engines you run yourself, which need some technical setup. None of them is a full copy of Speechify's app, but they read text aloud for free.
Can Speechify read books for free?
Speechify's pricing page says the Free plan includes text to speech features with 10 "robotic sounding" voices at speeds up to 1.5x. It does not say which book formats the Free plan covers. Scan & Listen, for scanning printed pages, is listed under the paid plan.
How we picked and checked
We looked for free ways to have text read aloud, the job Speechify does. Every fact on this page comes from the tool's own page, support article, store listing, README or model card, checked on 2026-10-23, and each one is linked. We haven't tested these tools hands-on, so we don't rank them by voice quality. Where a vendor's page doesn't say something, we write "Not stated". NaturalReader was left out because its pricing page returned an error when we checked.